Kristina Holgersen

NY START

Released on CD, LP, and Digital

Sundance Records

Danish singer, musician, and composer Kristina Holgersen is back with her fourth solo release. The album includes nine songs, in Danish, that explore themes including growing up in a small town, tingling wanderlust, the state of the world, inevitable choices, lingering love, embracing childhood, and finding oneself again. It is autobiographical, poetic, political, and bears the fruit of songwriter Niels Skousen and author Josefine Klougart.

New Start

Kristina Holgersen's childhood home in the small town of Ansager in western Jutland became the setting and inspiration for the songwriting process. It's also a place she spent many years running away from, a place that conjures strong memories, and a place that inspired the autobiographical lyrics. New Start is also a song specifically about moving from Aarhus to Copenhagen - about fear of stagnation, longing, and the eternal quest for self-renewal. The album is produced by Mikkel Reumert Damgaard (Love Shop), who's joined by a team of experienced musicians including Søren Bigum on guitar (Peter Sommer, Jonah Blacksmith), Nis Tyrrestrup on bass (Love Shop), and Emil De Waal on drums (Spejderrobot). "The songs are filled with people who make mistakes, who doubt, yearn, love, and believe. People who are in the middle of their lives and have tried a bit of everything. We think the music should reflect that. At the same time, we wanted to challenge ourselves by making a record where most of the instruments are recorded live, together... with a collective sound, without worrying too much about making mistakes," says Kristina Holgersen.

Josefine Klougart and Niels Skousen

The first half of the new album primarily consists of Kristina Holgersen's own lyrical material, while the second half includes collaborations with author Josefine Klougart and songwriter Niels Skousen. "Josefine Klougart gave me her novel (New Forest) and her extrasensory and fragmented universe was liberating to read. New Forest is used as linguistic inspiration throughout the album, and two of the songs are based on specific passages from the book," Kristina shares.

Veteran Niels Skousen wrote the lyrics for the song Year After Year With You, a song about love that lasts beyond "yes" and "no." The piece is a duet between Skousen and Holgersen and thus continues the collaboration initiated last year at a number of joint concerts. "Our two generations share a passion for songwriting, for literature, and for politics. In many ways, Niels is a great role model for me.



Sundance Records SU9096-2

Therefore, it was also obvious to ask him whether he would write the lyrics for Year After Year With You," says Kristina, who feels more connected to the Nordic songwriting tradition than the American. "My grandparents were Inner Mission (Lutheran Christians), and after dinner my grandmother would go to the pump organ and play a selection of hymns that we would sing along to. That musical language and seriousness remain present deep in my soul."

With the new album, Kristina Holgersen gets back to telling her own stories after 2016's critically acclaimed album Two Kinds of Darkness that featured lyrics by author Helle Helle and generated widespread recognition, positive reviews, and an extensive tour around Denmark.

In 2017, Kristina Holgersen received the Ethel Prize for her musical storytelling and her cultural political commitment. She released her first solo album in 2004, and the upcoming album will be her fourth overall. She is a former member of the Indie-pop band Emotions and has continuously recorded, written, toured, and collaborated with a multitude of musicians and artists. Kristina Holgersen is also the Chairperson of the Danish Arts Foundation's Music Committee, and has served on numerous boards and committees with music as their focus throughout the years.

Listen to the album <u>here</u> Read more about <u>Kristina</u>

Featuring:

Vocal and songwriter: Kristina Holgersen

Vocal and songwriter Year After Year With You: Niels Skousen

Producer and mix: Mikkel Reumert Damgaard

Guitar: Søren Bigum Bass: Nis Tyrrestrup Drums: Emil De Waal Cello: Tue Lautrup

Piano / key / programming: Mikkel Reumert Damgaard

Recorded in Li Studio, and Keyboard Empire

Technician: Thomas Li

Master: Emil Thomsen, ET Mastering

"Et øjebliks længsel" and "Når vi går igennem sne" based on Josefine Klougart's novel "New Forest"

(Gladiator, 2016)

Press: Mikkel Falk Møller / mikkelmoeller@gmail.com / +45 61463401

