NEW CD FROM DENMARK'S MOST ORIGINAL FUNK BAND!

Ridin' Thumb
PEOPLE



Sundance Records CD SU 9089-2 To be released April 22, 2014



This year, Ridin' Thumb celebrate their 20th anniversary. In 1994 the musician's collective, from which many Danish talents have emerged through the years, released their first album, Different Moves, Different Grooves. On their second release, 20th Century Funk, vocalist Jonas Winge Leisner and pianist Joakim Pedersen replaced Niels HP and Jacob Christoffersen, and have fronted the 11-piece band ever since. Original members guitarists Nicolai Halberg and Martin Finding, brasses Nis Toxværd and Henrik Jørgensen, and bassist Jens Christian Uhrenholdt have been along for the whole ride, and are still here on the band's fourth release.

The common denominator has always been a deep love for funk music with inspiration from Tower Of Power, Ray Brown and Ray Charles, and from the very start Ridin' Thumb have always invited rappers to join them on stage and in the recording studio. Over the years they have featured Al Agami, Remee, Shaka Johnson,

and naturally Kuku Agami, who still contributes largely to the group's extrovert and continuously modern expression. Concerts still illustrate the hold Ridin' Thumb have in young audiences, who are attracted to the vital funk grooves.

12 years have passed since Work It Out, and once again it is time to dress up and put on your dancing shoes, because Ridin' Thumb are back with PEOPLE. And for those of you who have been waiting impatiently, the rewards are ample. Once again, the well-oiled funk machine offers its own original hybrid of funk, jazz, soul and hip-hop in eight great, new explosive songs. Congenially arranged and produced by Joakim Pedersen and fronted by Jonas Winge Leisner's crisp vocal and Kuku Agami's rap, it's party time with smooth grooves and swinging horns. The title tune has great hit potential, and may very well be destined to a long life on radio playlists.

DO YOU FEEL THE SAME / PEOPLE / I NEED SOMEONE TO HOLD ON TO / WHIRL AROUND / WHAT YOU DROP / I CAN CHANGE / ALLRIGHT WITH ME / EVERYTHING HAS CHANGED.

Jonas Winge Leisner, vocal; Kuku Agami, rap; Martin Finding and Nicolai Halberg, guitars; Joakim Pedersen, keyboards; Thomas Jepsen, drums; Jens Christian Uhrenholt, bass; Hendrik Jørgensen and Anders Gustafsson, trumpets; Nis Toxværd, baritone sax; Troels Mygind, tenor sax; Molly Jellyfish, backing vocals.

SU 9089-2 Ridin' Thumb, PEOPLE, Sundance Records/Sundance Music 2014.

